Home » Fitness » Whole30 Challenge?!

Whole30 Challenge?!

Since I completed the half marathon a few weeks ago, I’ve had to lay off the gym/running a bit due to my knee being a little off. I figured giving it a break would be the best idea. You know what ISN’T the best idea?? To eat like a wolverine while you aren’t exercising at all!! I’ve totally gained like 5lbs back in about three weeks, which is really annoying. However, it’s all my fault, so I’m not about to get bent out of shape about it. Most of those cheats were in alcoholic form, which means I had a good time cheating, and I like good times. But, the ‘hey, let’s party and eat like we have 21 year old bodies with crazy fast metabolism’ days are over for the time being. Time to get serious again for a while (until the bachelorette party I have the first week of May anyway!).

I decided a couple of weeks ago that I would commit to no alcohol during the week of April, which would help me get my health and fitness back on track again. However, when it comes down to it, I have to get even more serious, and need to also focus on the food I’m taking in. When I was at my most strict, and eating almost completely paleo, I felt my best. That’s where I’d like to get back to.

So, after long deliberation, I’ve decided to commit to completing the Whole30 Program, which can be found here: http://whole9life.com/2012/08/the-whole30-program/. This program is outlined thoroughly on the website, and is completely free, so really, the commitment of finishing is all to myself, and nobody else. However, now that I’m broadcasting it here…I’d look pretty bad if I gave up!

Here is the basic outline of the program:

For 30 days, none of the following:

  • No added sugar, including maple syrup, stevia, splenda, etc.
  • No alcohol of any kind.
  • No grains whatsoever.
  • No legumes.
  • No carrageenan, sulfites, or MSG.
  • No dairy.
  • No white potatoes. (sweet potatoes = A OK)
  • Also, no weighing myself for the duration, as this isn’t the point of the program…this is a tricky one for me, I like to check in!
  • No attempting to make “paleo” desserts/breads/treats…there go my sweet potato brownies!!! 😦

Basically that’s it…super strict paleo eating…I think it’s gonna be hard, but I’m committed!! To all my friends…be supportive! Don’t offer me wine and yell at me if I start to slip up! Wish me luck!!!

2 thoughts on “Whole30 Challenge?!

  1. Good luck on your Whole30!
    It’s good to announce it to the world. Accountability, even to strangers, is a great motivator.
    You say you can’t eat then, but can you share your sweet potato brownie recipe? I’ll eat an extra one on your behalf 🙂

Leave a Reply

